Twenty-Three

“I was three-and-twenty years of age. Not another word had I heard to enlighten me on the subject of my expectations, and my twenty-third birthday was a week gone”

 – Chap.39, Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

I’d taken my sister out for Chinese at lunch and then went on to join some friends and whoever else made it to relax on a cold, rainy afternoon, with lots of laughter and crazy winding conversations, as well as some objectionable cake-smashing, hmpfh. The weekend just before that Monday was filled with lots of shopping and so I was quite sated (for that week, more like it). My good friends from design school were unable to make it, since it was their first day of class and although that was upsetting the afternoon wore on despite the incessant grey rain and the many friends missing. At dusk, my sister and I made our way back home to dress for the traditional family dinner out somewhere. Since it was late, we went to one of the older hotels in town, that had recently upped its game (woo.) A brilliant dinner later, we stood waiting for the valet to bring our car. So tired. What a long day. Some good people around me, but I was quite tired and trying not to get too pensive. It shows. The end of yet another typical Coimbatore birthday experience when I live at home and probably the last as I prepare to move out soon. This photo was taken at the very end of the day.  I wore a simple black dress from Color Plus for dinner with my chandelier statement earrings from Forever21, my usual Fabindia ring and simple black heels, plus the usual basic make-up with a touch of Urban Decay Lounge eyeshadow. Minimal, neat and elegant. Twenty-three…and tired.

This was the first birthday after my 18th that I have whole-heartedly accepted. It’s going to be a good year.

One thought on “Twenty-Three

  1. i just love the way you write (: you have incredible flow. thanks for visiting my site, too. appreciated the kind comment you left. keep on keeping on and happy belated birthday!! 😀 yay for june babies.

Leave a Reply

